Recite Me

Need a translation? Visit health information in other languages. If you need urgent help, call NHS 111 - tell them you need a translator.

Need help finding us? Click here

Coronavirus: Wash hands, cover face, make space…. Find our Covid-19 information and updates here.

Monday, 26 October 2020

Winners announced for 2020 #UpliftingImage photography competition

Winners announced for 2020 #UpliftingImage photography competition

South West London and St George’s Mental Health NHS Trust has today announced the winners of the 2020 #UpliftingImage competition, the Trust’s annual digital photography competition.

The competition, which was open to local schools, residents, service users and staff, formed part of the Trust’s annual October mental health month celebrations, designed to encourage people to talk about mental health.

This year, the theme for the competition was ‘what makes you happy?’ and we were delighted to receive such a range of images from family photos to the local architecture. 

Local MP Stephen Hammond has long supported this competition and was in attendance at our virtual award ceremony to announce the first two winners. Stephen said: ‘I am delighted to have been invited to take part in such an uplifting community event. Art and photography are something we can all connect with at a human level and in trying times these kind of connections are more important than ever.’

SWLSTG Chair Ann Beasley announced the final two winners and closed this year's ceremony: Ann said: “The Uplifting Image digital photography competition is an opportunity for people from across Kingston, Richmond, Sutton, Merton and Wandsworth to share the pictures that can inspire and uplift all of our spirits. Now more than ever, it is important to find the time and space to reflect on the things that make us happy. It’s wonderful to be part of the 6th #UpliftingImage competition and I’d like to thank everyone for their submissions, which were a delight to receive.

Watch this video to see the entries.

The winners:

Public award: Lisa D’Alessio


Patient/carer award: Carol Wain

carol wain new

Staff award: Sharon Lecocq

Time to reflect new

Special award: Nicholas Karitci

Nic new

If you have missed the ceremony, you can watch the recording here.